The Music Elitist


I’ve about had it with Fat Mike
February 7, 2009, 7:33 pm
Filed under: Punk | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Ok. Let me start by saying that Avenged Sevenfold isn’t exactly one of my favorite bands, but I have enjoyed a few of their songs (but mostly from their 2003 record Waking the Fallen…newer stuff’s kinda shitty). Here‘s what NOFX frontman Fat Mike had to say about them:

Asked for an example of what’s wrong with music today, Mike comes back with a very specific case in point: “Avenged Sevenfold is the epitome of what’s wrong with rock and roll. They support Bush. Support the Iraq War. Wouldn’t accept a drink ’cause they have to play the next day, but tell everyone they party. And play to a fucking DAT tape. However, a couple of them are decent poker players.”

Again, I am not an Avenged Sevenfold fan, but in my opinion NOFX is one of the most repetitive, unoriginal bands on the planet. As far as I’m concerned they release the same record every few years. On top of it, Fat Mike is the most arrogant prick/biggest moron I have ever seen. Who gives a damn if they support Bush and the Iraq War? Bush is gone now. And how the hell does that affect their music? And I also like how he’s knockin’ them for not drinking in the interest of playing a better show. Might wanna give that a try sometime Mike, maybe you won’t sound like shit.

For those who don’t know this guy was the genius behind 2004’s PunkVoter group which tried to get people to vote for John Kerry by flat out lying and saying the draft was coming back if Bush got re-elected. I’m not a fan of ol’ G. Dubya, but to me PunkVoter was about as good of an idea as Diddy’s “Vote or Die” campaign. As you can see it worked about as well. Fat Mike also likes to preach things like tolerance and acceptance but at the same time will make fun of bands like Underoath because they are Christians. Fat Mike and NOFX are what’s wrong with music today. And Avenged Sevenfold isn’t helping….record a better album.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“And I also like how he’s knockin’ them for not drinking in the interest of playing a better show.”

Thanks for acknowledging that. I don’t like spending money to go see a band that ends up sounding like crap so the fact they are at least attempting to give me my money’s worth is appreciated.

Comment by Sonia




Leave a Reply

